Review and giveaway of The Jewel by Amy Ewing by The Book Belle! 

We’re recruiting Ava Advocates for this mesmerizing, lyrical tale of the plight of Ava, a girl born with wings.
For a chance to become an Ava Advocate and receive 2 copies of The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, plus some gorgeous feather bookmarks, just email marketing@walker.co.uk and answer the following question.
If you were born with wings like Ava, where would they take you?

We’re recruiting Ava Advocates for this mesmerizing, lyrical tale of the plight of Ava, a girl born with wings.

For a chance to become an Ava Advocate and receive 2 copies of The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, plus some gorgeous feather bookmarks, just email marketing@walker.co.uk and answer the following question.

If you were born with wings like Ava, where would they take you?

Want to know the title of Non Pratt’s new book?

image

Non Pratt’s debut novel, Trouble, came out earlier this year, and her second YA book is due out next year.

She’s had a really tough time thinking up the perfect title. But here it is.

REMIX.

What do you guys think? Non would love to hear from you on Twitter @NonPratt.

The journey to picking this title has been a long and arduous one. Non says that naming a book is harder than naming a child. Visit her Tumblrnonthepratt to see exactly how hard it was to come up with REMIX.

You might also like to check out this handy post-it note flow chart she made to help her with the title choice process.

fashion-by-the-book:

The Jewel by Amy Ewing

Genre- YA

Publisher- Walker Books Lt/Harper Teen

Release Date- September 2md (US only,) 4th (UK), 2014

Rating- ✮✮✮✮☆

I received a copy of this book in exchanged for a honest review. In no way did the author or publishing company influence my review. For info on my book reviews and rating scale, click here

What if you spent your whole life knowing that one day you’d lose all right to it? This is how Violet Lasting, the heroine of The Jewel, has spent her life, ever since the medical examination that proved she could be a surrogate for the infertile royals of Lone city, where The Jewel takes place. Every year, the rich and the royals bid on magically talented girls who can customize and carry heirs. Violet, now referred to as 197, one of the highest ranks, is sold to the Duchess of the Lake to carry her daughter. But Violet won’t let her life go without a fight.

I really enjoyed reading The Jewel, and I loved the world building. Most of the characters were interesting too.

The Good: Violet was a pretty good heroine, although she could be really selfish and childish sometimes, but her good balanced out the bad. The world building was just enough, and I found myself interested in it. The writing was also on key. Quick enough to interest and keep me hooked, but not so fast that I couldn’t keep up. The end was a cliffhanger and now I want the next book so bad! I was surprised that this is Ewing’s first novel, and I thought it was really good for a debut.

The Not-so-Good: Although Violet and a couple other characters were well developed, most of them were flat and boring. Like the duchess’ son, although a twist at the end made me like him more and wonder more about him. The romance was eye roll worthy. Her love interest was so boring, and they fell in love after a conversation. Insta love. And, I get having a crush or interested in someone quickly, but they were telling each other they were in love way too fast. And he felt so random, like he was added in as an afterthought.

I really did like The Jewel, and oh my gosh I need the next book NOW! I recommend The Jewel for fans of The Selection and The Handmaiden’s tale.

10 Reasons To Read (And Love) The Jewel By Amy Ewing

The Jewel is here and it’s freakin’ awesome. Click on the jacket to find out why!


Amazon     iBookstore     Waterstones.com

The Jewel by Amy Ewing is FINALLY here! Click on the picture to read a sample chapter.
If you love the sound of The Jewel, here’s where you can get a copy:
          

The Jewel by Amy Ewing is FINALLY here! Click on the picture to read a sample chapter.

If you love the sound of The Jewel, here’s where you can get a copy:

Amazon     iBookstore     Waterstones.com

Most Epic Patrick Ness selfie - EVER!

Attention fans of Cassandra Clare and Holly Black! They’re visiting the UK to talk about their new series, The Iron Trial, written together. Click on the banner for ticket details!

Attention fans of Cassandra Clare and Holly Black! They’re visiting the UK to talk about their new series, The Iron Trial, written together. Click on the banner for ticket details!

The Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal is out tomorrow! Read a sample chapter by clicking on the cover.

The Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal is out tomorrow! Read a sample chapter by clicking on the cover.

The new look edition of Wonderland by Joanna Nadin is out tomorrow! Click on the cover to read a sample chapter!

The new look edition of Wonderland by Joanna Nadin is out tomorrow! Click on the cover to read a sample chapter!